Fay Bennet Junior Sailing Trophy

The Faye Bennet Junior Sailing Trophy is awarded to an individual who, by their efforts and/or their time and in the opinion of their peers, has made an outstanding individual or collective contribution to the support and growth of Junior Sailing within the member clubs of the North Jersey Yacht Racing Association.  The recipient may be a program administrator, an instructor, a parent, a sailor or a volunteer.

This perpetual award was established by the NJYRA in 2009 in honor of the late Faye Bennet PC whose contributions to sailing, women’s sailing and junior sailing spans decades. Seeing children learn and master the life sport of sailing was a great passion of Faye’s and the NJYRA believes there is no more fitting way to honor her service and memory than to recognize those who share her passion for junior sailing.

The Faye Bennet Junior Sailing Trophy is awarded at the Annual Meeting based on nominations received from sailors, parents, instructors and junior program staff and leaders.  The selection is made by the NJYRA Flag Officers from the nominations received.

P.C. William C. Waggoner Trophy for Excellence in Race Management

The NJYRA Race Management Trophy was established in 1985 for presentation to a member club for the most outstanding performance of race management each year. It is intended for a club’s major regatta or sailing event, with no more than two entries per club per year. The regatta must have at least eight yachts crossing the starting line, consist of at least two closed-course races, and have non-professional race management.

To be considered a candidate for the trophy, an NJYRA club must complete the Yacht Club Entry formand mail that to the NJYRA Chair at least two weeks prior to the clubs regatta date.

A three person committee review all entries and final paperwork. All aspects of race management will be considered. The committee will select the winner from the written reports and ballots from the skippers received. Regatta dates from October 1, 2009 thru September 30, 2010 will be considered for the 2010 award. The Trophy will be presented at the NJYRA Annual Awards Reception in November.

High Point Trophy

Awarded annually to the member club for excellence in racing. The racing activities which contribute to the point total are:

  1. NJYRA Class Championship:
    • 1 point for each championship won by a club member.
  2. US Sailing Ladder or Area Event: points given to NJYRA Club whose representatives achieve:
    • First: 5 points
    • Second: 4 points
    • Third: 3 points
    • Participant: 1 point
  3. US Sailing Events for which High Point Championship points are awarded:
    • Middle Atlantic Midget Championship-Single Handed
    • Middle Atlantic Midget Championship-Double Handed
    • Keater Trophy (Sears cup)
    • D. Verner Smythe Trophy
    • Clifford D. Mallory Cup
    • Mrs. Charles Francis Adams Trophy
    • Alter Trophy

Club of the Year

The NJYRA Club of the Year is an annual award to a member club to recognize that club who has supported NJYRA in furtherance of its purposes and objectives. The recipient will be the member club with the highest point total.